Call Us: (563) 583-2115
Call Us: (563) 583-2115

Tax Relief for Hurricane Michael & Florence

Do you operate in an area affected by last year’s hurricanes? Do you hire persons in impacted areas? If so, your business may have extra time to submit Work Opportunity Tax Credit (WOTC) applications.

Under typical circumstances, WOTC program participants have 28 days from new hires’ start dates to apply for the Work Opportunity Tax Credit.  For those most impacted by Hurricanes Michael and Florence, the Federal Disaster Relief extends the deadline. Now through February 27, 2019, extension guidelines allow eligible businesses to submit new hires made between September 10, 2018 and January 31, 2019.

Qualified businesses must either operate in a disaster zone or hire persons from corresponding areas.  The temporary extension applies to the following areas:

Hurricane Michael:

Alabama counties: Geneva, Henry, Houston, and Mobile.

Florida counties: Bay, Calhoun, Franklin, Gadsden, Gulf, Hamilton, Holmes, Jackson, Jefferson, Leon, Liberty, Madison, Okaloosa, Suwannee, Taylor, Wakulla, Walton, and Washington.

Georgia counties: Appling, Atkinson, Bacon, Baker, Ben Hill, Berrien, Bleckley, Brooks, Bulloch, Burke, Calhoun, Candler, Chattahoochee, Clay, Coffee, Colquitt, Cook, Crawford, Crisp, Decatur, Dodge, Dooly, Dougherty, Early, Echols, Emanuel, Evans, Glascock, Grady, Hancock, Houston, Irwin, Jeff Davis, Jefferson, Jenkins, Johnson, Jones, Laurens, Lee, Macon, Marion, Miller, Mitchell, Montgomery, Peach, Pulaski, Putnam, Quitman, Randolph, Schley, Screven, Seminole, Stewart, Sumter, Tattnall, Telfair, Terrell, Thomas, Tift, Toombs, Treutlen, Turner, Twiggs, Washington, Webster, Wheeler, Wilcox, Wilkinson, and Worth.

Hurricane Florence:

North Carolina counties:  Allegany, Alamance, Anson, Ashe, Beaufort, Bertie, Bladen, Brunswick, Cabarrus, Carteret, Chatham, Columbus, Craven, Cumberland, Dare, Davidson, Duplin, Durham, Granville, Greene, Guilford, Harnett, Hoke, Hyde, Johnston, Jones, Lee, Lenoir, Madison, McDowell, Montgomery, Moore, New Hanover, Onslow, Orange, Pamlico, Pender, Person, Pitt, Polk, Randolph, Richmond, Robeson, Rowan, Sampson, Scotland, Stanly, Tyrrell, Union, Wayne, Wilson, and Yancey.

South Carolina counties: Berkeley, Calhoun, Charleston, Chesterfield, Clarendon, Colleton, Darlington, Dillon, Dorchester, Florence, Georgetown, Horry, Jasper, Lancaster, Marion, Marlboro, Orangeburg, Sumter, and Williamsburg Counties.

Virginia counties: Botetourt, Charles City, Chesterfield, Craig, Floyd, Franklin, Grayson, Halifax, Henry, Isle of Wight, King and Queen, King William, Lancaster, Lunenburg, Mathews, Mecklenburg, Nelson, Northumberland, Nottoway, Patrick, Pittsylvania, Pulaski, Russell and Roanoke Counties and the Independent Cities of Bristol, Danville, Franklin, Hampton, Martinsville, Newport News, Richmond, and Williamsburg.

WOTC is a federal tax credit awarded to businesses who hire from populations that have historically faced barriers to employment.  Companies can earn as much as $2,400 in tax credit for each eligible new hire.

For more information, contact us at 563-583-2115 or try our savings calculator to see how much tax credit you can earn.

 Save as PDF

© Copyright 2022 Tax Credit Group, Inc.

3500 Dodge Street Suite 302 | Dubuque, IA 52003 | (563) 583-2115